RSS

Happy Valentine’s Day, Dear Midwives!

14 Feb

Not too long ago, I finished my third medical romance (in Afrikaans, under my pen name). Like the first two, the story centres around a midwife in private practice. She is asked to deliver the baby of a celebrity couple – at home. I wanted to call this book Vroedvrou vir die Sterre – Midwife to the Stars. My publisher accepted the book, but not the title. According to her, the term ‘vroedvrou’ (in English, ‘midwife’) is not very romantic. I accepted the change with good grace, acknowledging that she knows best about all things publishing and book sales, while I’m just a doula who knows about birth.

Still, if you ask me, being a midwife is a pretty romantic thing to do with your life. Oh sure, there are late nights, missed birthday parties and Christmases, ringing phones in the middle of the night. There’s blood and poop and other bodily fluids. There are (sometimes) screaming women and disrespectful colleagues. But mostly, there is love.

Think about it. What constitutes our very first experience of this world? Our primal experience of love? It is our birth, of course. Whose hands are the first to touch us, the first to convey welcome or abuse? The hands that deliver us. Those hands imprint upon our bodies and our souls what love and tenderness should feel like. Often, the very first voice we hear is that of the midwife or the doctor ‘catching’ us. Lucky is the baby delivered by a midwife’s gentle hands, placed with awe onto his mother’s chest, welcomed with the words: “Here’s your baby, look at what your love created, isn’t he beautiful?” In that moment, the midwife’s love births not just a baby, but a family. A mother. A father. A new soul.

The word ‘midwife’ comes from the old English and means someone who is with woman. Sheila Kitzinger describes the role of the midwife beautifully in her book, Rediscovering Birth:

“In all cultures, the midwife’s place is on the threshold of life, where intense human emotions – fear, hope, longing, triumph and incredible physical power – enable a new human being to emerge. Her vocation is unique. The art of the midwife is understanding the relationship between psychological and physiological processes in childbirth. Rather than being the provider of a technical service to support a doctor, or someone who scuttles around getting ready for an obstetrician and clearing away after him, her skills lie at the point where the emotional and biological touch and interact. She is not a manager of labour and delivery. Rather, she is the opener of doors, the one who releases, the nurturer. She is the strong anchor when there is fear and pain; the skilled friend who is in tune with the rhythms of birth, the mountain tops and chasms, the striving and the triumph.”

Sounds romantic, doesn’t it? French obstetrician Michel Odent reminds us that, until recently, human mothers could not give birth without releasing a “complex cocktail of love hormones”. The most important of these hormones are oxytocin (the hormone of bonding), endorphins (the hormones of transcendence and bliss) and prolactin (the mothering hormone). He warns: Today, in many countries, most women have babies without releasing these specific hormones. The questions must be raised in terms of civilization. This turning point occurs at the very time when several scientific disciplines suggest that the way human beings are born has long-term consequences, particularly in terms of sociability, aggressiveness or, in other words, ‘capacity to love’.” Midwives, in my opinion, are the ones most skilled at creating a space in which love hormones can flow. They are an essential ingredient of the “cocktail of love hormones”. This is why women often have lifelong bonds with their midwives.

Thank you to all the wonderful midwives of the world who embody love. Thank you, in particular, to the midwives who delivered my babies (Sue and Riana) and the babies of my doula clients (especially Heather, Esti, Erna, Margot and Cornel). A special thank you to Robyn Sheldon, the ‘mother’ of The Mama Bamba Way. You have inspired me so deeply that I had to write three stories about your profession. You truly are my heroines. Happy Valentine’s Day! May the love you’ve given away so bountifully come back to you a thousand fold.

To all the midwives, moms and dads viewing this post, please don’t go away without leaving a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2012 in books, midwives, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day, Dear Midwives!

  1. Antoinette Bootsma

    February 14, 2012 at 10:09 am

    My baby is turning a year old in a few weeks and her birth has been on my mind so much! It keeps running over and over in my mind and I wonder at the little person who fills my world, and how she came to be in it. I don’t think its possible to tell anyone about this experience and really manage to bring across what you experienced. There is so much emotion involved. I am so very thankful that we were able to get this start as a family. I would not like to try birthing in this way without the support of a Doula and a team of midwives who are trained for, and passionate about natural birth. I just wish that I get a chance to walk this road again.

     
    • doulapretoria

      February 14, 2012 at 11:06 am

      Hi Antoinette, thanks for popping in. We remember the births of our babies forever, don’t we? We remember the people with us, what they said, how they looked at us, how they touched us. What we don’t always know, is that our midwives and doulas remember these births as well. Sometimes – like with your little Mieke’s birth – it feels like the birth room is filled with angels. Remember to write your baby a letter on her first birthday, telling her all about your birth.

       
  2. Marelise Visser

    February 14, 2012 at 1:05 pm

    “Amen!” op jou stuk oor vroedvroue & van my kant af ook “Gelukkige Valentynsdag!” aan almal by Midwives Exclusive. Hulle is voorwaar engele van Bo op ‘n toekomstige ouer se pad. Wens net meer mense wil die moeite doen om ingelig te word oor die wonderlike diens wat hulle (en doulas) doen. Mag jou blog help daarmee! Anina is ‘n fyngeboude, 16 maande-oue wonderwerkie & ek sou nie haar koms in hierdie wêreld anders as ‘n wonderwerk kon beleef het, as dit nie vir Heather & Estie se bekwame voorbereiding & sorg was nie. Marie-Louise, jou voorgeboorteklasse & borsvoedings-hulp het ook op net die regte tye ‘n REUSE behoefte ondervang. Nogmaals DANKIE!

     
    • doulapretoria

      February 15, 2012 at 8:43 am

      Hi Marelise! Dankie vir die inloer – dis so lekker om van jou te hoor. Ek’s bly julle geniet Anina so baie.

       
  3. Heather Pieterse

    February 14, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    Marie-louise, you are such an inspiration to me and you are so humble about it too. You touch so many lives and you completely underestimate the way your words and actions impact on those around you. You are so special to me and I am so blessed to have you by my side: doula, photographer, lactation consultant but mostly, my friend. My one big regret is that I couldn’t have you as my doula when I was giving birth all those years ago. I think the outcome would have been dramatically different. Can’t wait to meet you in the dawn again soon over a birth and a wake up coffee. Keep up the fantastic work. Love Heather

     
    • doulapretoria

      February 15, 2012 at 8:45 am

      Dearest Heather, I wish I was your doula too, and I wish you were mine. Your support to labouring moms – the love in which you cocoon them – is truly amazing. What a pity that we’re not going to have more babies!

       
      • Linda

        February 15, 2012 at 10:09 am

        This will be to Marie-Louise and Heather…what you have done for me during the birth of Mia…I will never forget!! It was an emotional rollercoaster for me…I so badly wanted to have a normal birth…I still get tears in my eyes when I think about that…we tried…but God, in His greatness, decided that my little Mia would be born by c-section – Marie Louise and Heather – you were there all the way…supporting us in such a way that words cannot express!!! I will always remember you, and will tell Mia about you always! I hope that one day there will be a midwife and doula for her – the way you were there for me!!! You are both angels!!!

         
      • doulapretoria

        February 15, 2012 at 10:45 am

        Dear Linda, I will never forget either. Your birth was my very first c-section as a doula, and my heart was broken. It’s a good thing we grow stronger with time and experience, isn’t it? By now, I’ve come to the point where I can truly say that I believe we each get the birth we need – the birth that will help us grow as mothers and as human beings. The birth that teaches us the lessons we need to learn. Yes, we ask ‘why?’, we cry and we grieve because dammit, birth matters! But if we can be present to the beauty of each birth – to what it has to teach us – we find peace. Do you know what stays with me about your birth? I remember when Herman told you not to cry, and you said you were just going to cry for two minutes. How lovely, how honest! I learned then that birth partners – midwives, doulas and dads – should always try to do what is best for the mom, not for ourselves. We might want you to stop crying because it makes us feel uncomfortable, but if crying gives a mom much needed release, we should hold the space for her to cry. I also remember Herman telling me – outside theatre: “If I had a thousand roses, I’d give them all to you.” This is the nicest thing a father has ever said to me. I’ve been given an extra thousand bucks (which bought a lot of little luxuries), but those imaginary roses remain my favourite. I hope you can remember the love that existed then, even though things have changed so much. And I, too, hope that Mia will have her own personal angels when her children are born – perhaps even her mommy!

         
  4. Corrie

    February 15, 2012 at 11:59 am

    My boodskap is dalk bietjie laat vir Valentynsdag, maar ag wat, elke dag is mos ‘n dag van liefde en waardering. Heather was my midwife en Marie-Louise my doula vir albei my kinders se geboorte. Met my eerste swangerskap het ek soos meeste mense my ginekoloog gereeld besoek en ‘n ‘normale’ hospitaal geboorte verwag. Ek was 32 weke swanger toe ek my dokter fire en my hospitaalbed kanseleer en oorgeskuif na die ABU. Ek was stomgeslaan oor die verskil in sorg. Skielik was my check-ups baie langer, en baie meer persoonlik, en Heather was so besorg oor my, sy het gesien as my voete geswel was, en gesels oor emosionele welstand, die vooruitsig van die geboorte (my Dr daarteen oor het skaars na my gekyk, hy was gewoonlik besig met die sonar of om notas neer te skryf). ‘n Dag of twee na Albert se geboorte, klop iemand aan my deur, toe ek oopmaak staan Heather daar. Ek was stomverbaas. Ek het seker in al die opwinding vergeet sy besoek ons tuis, en ek het nie eers geweet sy weet waar ek bly nie. Verbeel jou jou dokter kom besoek jou by die huis!! Dankie vir M-L wat my geinspireer het om alternatiewe te oorweeg. Danksy Heather en Marie-Louise was albei my kinders se geboortes die grootste wonderwerk, die ongelooflikste ervaring waarmee ek met soveel dankbaarheid en deernis terug dink. Om my paadjie as ouer met julle ondersteuning te kon begin, het vir my al die verskil in die wereld gemaak, en daarvoor sal ek julle ewig dankbaar bly.

     
  5. doulapretoria

    February 15, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    Hi Corrie, women so often ask when it is ‘too late’ to change your birth choices. I think it’s probably only too late if you wait until labour has already started! Kudos to you for having the courage to change your mind and for searching for a caregiver who met your needs and helped you get the births you wanted. Sometimes taking responsibility for our birth choices can feel scary, but in the end it is so empowering.

     
    • Linda

      February 16, 2012 at 10:54 am

      Marie-Louise…you had me in tears…thank you so much for those kind words!! They mean more to me than you will ever know!! And yes…Mia was the result of our love…and for that I will always be grateful! Thank you so much for all you mean to all of us!! xx

       
      • doulapretoria

        February 17, 2012 at 12:15 pm

        Thank you for writing, Linda. I’ve often be surprised by the fact that human, flawed love can lead to such magnificent children. It’s one of the reason I have to believe in a higher power!

         
  6. Lourens

    February 17, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Marie-Louise and Heather;
    I know this is a bit late, but I still want to say something. Although I can say this is a Valentine ’s Day message, it is not, it is an everyday message. The way M-L and Heather touched me and my family’s lives is beyond explanation. You have given us the ultimate gift in live; connection to your kids, our human feelings, towards our kids, each other and ourselves. I will never forget the day we arrive at the BU (2:00 AM) and Albert was born within 30min! The greatest feeling (emotion) of my live was when Heather put Albert on Corrie’s chest, I cried like a baby! The intensity of the emotion of that day was only once ever repeated again, on the birth of Karina. For that I will always remember you two, which was probably the greatest gift anybody have ever given us. For that you will always be in our minds and memories. Beyond this, your intensity with which you handled our pre-birth, birth and post birth has had a profound effect on our lives and the way we view life and our kids. In this I personally think you had the greatest positive influence on our lives and kids; for this I am eternally thankful to you two.
    Regards. Lourens

     
    • doulapretoria

      February 20, 2012 at 1:28 pm

      Dear Lourens
      Thank you so much for stopping by and writing these kind words. They mean so much to me. I’ve always been driven by the need for living a life with meaning. Perhaps it is because my parents have died when I was relatively young, I don’t know. All I know is that I’ve always wanted to leave the world a little bit better than I found it. Your message made me feel that I might have taken a small step to accomplishing that goal.
      I’d like you to know, though, that the impact has by no means been in only one direction. Just like you, I’ll never forget Albert and Karina’s births. At the moment I’m reading a book called Fathers at Birth, and I’m thinking about you so much. You did everything right – somehow you just knew intuitively how to love your wife through labour. I remember the atmosphere you created in your cozy little simplex on the night Albert was born: the warmth, the intimacy, the web of love you spun around your partner and your unborn son. I remember how you wrote the times of the contractions on your hand, how you rocked with Corrie through each surge, how you encouraged her to sound away the pain (‘maak geluidjies’). I remember how she called for you during the three minutes it took you to pack the car. And yes, I remember those sobs as if I heard them yesterday. Thank you for the incredible privilege of being your doula. Thank you for letting me in on all the love and the holiness and the joy. I will never forget and I, too, have been transformed by it.

       
    • Heather Pieterse

      February 20, 2012 at 7:58 pm

      Hi Lourens and Corrie
      Thank you so much for the lovely words. It is so precious to know that we have touched lives in such an intimate way. Birth is so sacret and so often brushed aside as a procedure. I’ve worked very hard to prevent that as I know all too well how one always remembers. Actually, I take that back, I haven’t worked hard to prevent it as it is such a completely natural thing to me that birth should be celebrated as should the woman who birth naturally. I am always so hugely proud of the strength of a woman who has just given birth. If I can contribute in any small way to making this day the day it should by all rights be then I have done my job well.
      I also know how a positive birth experience can have such a profound impact on the bonding with your baby and later child. Hey, it’s hard to be a parent and so much harder if the beginning wasn’t fraud with a sense of failure or regret.
      You guys were awsome. Hope you are both well and kids bringing you great pleasure. Love H x

       

Leave a comment